5th International Conference on
Computer Graphics and Image Processing

Call for Papers
Conference Information
The Best Paper Award
Conference Committees and Addresses

GKPO Conference series
Previous GKPO Conferences

NOTE: the Conference has already taken place.

Call for Papers

The 5th GKPO'98 Conference intends to group the best researchers active in the field of pictorial information exchange between computer and its environment. The reviewing process and strict acceptance criteria ensure high quality of the accepted papers (only about half of the submitted papers were accepted for the previous GKPO'96 Conference).
The number of participants is limited to 80 persons.

The conference will be a forum for presentation of theoretical aspects, methods, applications and systems of image generation and processing. Unpublished research papers are solicited, particularly concerning the following topics:

The programme will include: invited papers by leading researchers, selected contributions, presentaion of software and hardware products, and social events.

The papers can be presented on a podium session (oral presentation) or on a poster session, according to the author(s) wish upon submission of the paper. Submission rules, acceptance criteria, and the form of publication in the proceedings are exactly the same for both kinds of papers.

Conference information

May 18-22, 1998
Borki near Tomaszow Mazowiecki,
a little resort in the middle of Poland, about 110 km south-west of Warsaw
Proceedings of the Conference are published
as a special issue (Vol. 7, Nos. 1/2) of the Machine GRAPHICS & VISION Journal.
  • Declaration form:
    31 July 1997 (expired)
  • Paper submission:
    30 October 1997 (expired)
  • Notification of acceptance:
    30 January 1998 (already sent)

  • The Best Paper award:

    The Best Paper Award for the best paper presented at the GKPO'98 Conference has been funded by the Association for Image Processing (TPO: Towarzystwo Przetwarzania Obrazow). It has been awarded after the presentation of the paper at the conference, to the person presenting the paper, on the basis of the paper's scientific merit and quality of presentation. The winner has been selected (from among several papers nominated by the Programme Committee before the conference) by a body consisting of Programme Committee members augmented by representative(s) of the funding body. The award amounted to 1000 (one thousand) Polish zlotys.

    The winner is:

    the Ph.D. student at the Dipartimento di Elettronica, Informatica e Sistemistica, Università di Bologna, Italy, for the presentation of the paper on Image generation by Petri nets. The second author of the paper was: also from Dipartimento di Elettronica, Informatica e Sistemistica, Università di Bologna, Italy.

    The papers nominated for the award by the Programme Committee were (in alphabetical order):

    Conference Committees and Addresses

    Conference Chair:

    Programme Committee Chair:
    Programme Committee:
    S. Ablameyko (BY)
    A. Bartkowiak (PL)
    E. Bengtsson (SE)
    J.-M. Boucher (FR)
    Ch. Branki (GB)
    L. Chmielewski (PL)
    R. Choras (PL)
    S. Dellepiane (IT)
    H. Emptoz (FR)
    M. Flasinski (PL)
    A. Gagalowicz (FR)
    D. Gillies (GB)
    E. Grabska (PL)
    H. Heijmans (NL)
    V. Hlavac (CZ)
    J.-M. Jolion (FR)
    W. Kasprzak (PL)
    R. Klette (NZ)
    W. Klonowski (PL)
    S. Kollias (GR)
    R. Kozera (NZ)
    V. Krasnoproshin (BY)
    M. Kujawinska (PL)
    Z. Kulpa (PL)
    M. Kurzynski (PL)
    W. Kwiatkowski (PL)
    L. Luchowski (PL)
    W. Malina (PL)
    A. Materka (PL)
    F. Murge (PT)
    H. Nagahashi (JP)
    H. Niemann (DE)
    T. Oksala (FI)
    J. Owczarczyk (PL)
    R. Paleniczka (UA)
    J.-G. Postaire (FR)
    J. Punys (LT)
    I. Serba (CZ)
    V. Skala (CZ)
    M. Szyszkowicz (CA)
    K. Tombre (FR)
    V. Valev (BG)
    D. Velichova (SK)
    L. Wojnar (PL)
    J. Woznicki (PL)
    J. Zabrodzki (PL)
    M. Zaremba (CA)
    Scientific Secretary:
    [Tel:] ++48-22/836-2885 ext. 45
    [Fax:] ++48-22/837-6564

    Organizing Committee Chair:
    Organizing Committee:
    D. Bereska (PL)
    K. Fujarewicz (PL)
    M. Grzegorek (PL)
    Organizing Committee Secretary:
    H. PALUS (PL)
    [Tel:] [Fax:] ++48-32/31-70-26

    Conference Contact Address:
    Institute of Computer Science of the PAS
    ul. Ordona 21,
    01-237 Warsaw, Poland
    [Fax:] ++48-22/837-6564

    Maintained by Zenon Kulpa
    Last updated May 25, 2000